Your Timeless Wholeness

(If this posting speaks to you please share it on Facebook and Twitter)

For a decade in my childhood I had the same bicycle.

But how it changed over the years. It became increasingly more battered. Bike polo, ramp jumping, stream crossing, beast of burden (3 kids on one bike), races on rickety roads, parts removed and added, and then after ten years, it’s ultimate demise, run over by a car (I left it in the driveway).

With all the changes it was, in one way or another still the same bike and a metaphor for life.  To quote Buddhist writer Bonnie Myotai Treace,

“It’s easy to identify with all the places we’ve been hurt and abandoned, but can we identify with the timeless wholeness that weathers every abuse, every condition? If we can’t, we may spend this life protecting ourselves and never really risk living”

Now at this stage of life I ask again the more important questions like, “Who am I right now? What is my task?”

It is certainly not to be attached to either “look what I’ve done” or “look how I have screwed up”

What I really am, my true task in life, despite my not seeing it at times, it is still what it always was,

Find my timeless wholeness and really risk living.

“Not I, nor anyone else can travel that road for you.
You must travel it by yourself.
It is not far. It is within reach.
Perhaps you have been on it since you were born, and did not know.
Perhaps it is everywhere – on water and land.”
― Walt WhitmanLeaves of Grass

About cedricj

I am a licensed psychologist and management consultant and have always been intrigued by how leaders can inspire people in their organizations. The bottom line is that people are not always motivated by material rewards, the use of the carrot or the stick, fear and intimidation,and command and control, Five human needs inspire and drive us. Kristine S MacKain, Ph.D and myself describe these inspirational forces in our book "What Inspirational Leaders Do" (Kindle 2008)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

