Why We Do What We Do

I am sometimes asked, “Why do you coach executives?” or “What drives you to write a blog?”

Such questions go right to the heart of why I do what I do.

In our “just do it” world probing the reasons behind our everyday activities may seem like unnecessary navel gazing. When I ask myself or others “Why do I/you do what you do?”,  I’m looking for the deep motivators in our lives .

Because without inspiration, our influence in this world will be markedly reduced.

The same could be said, by the way, of an organization’s mission. So when I ask, “Why….?”, I’m looking for the positive and inspirational drivers for our work in the world. When people ask why I write blogs , for example, my immediate response is,

“I want to share inspirational ideas that make a difference to people’s lives.”

For why I coach my answer is,

“To open a person’s mind and heart to transformational possibilities”

 The Challenge

Can you articulate the reasons why you do your job? Can you give a quick, simple, and compelling statement why your organization does what it does?

About cedricj

I am a licensed psychologist and management consultant and have always been intrigued by how leaders can inspire people in their organizations. The bottom line is that people are not always motivated by material rewards, the use of the carrot or the stick, fear and intimidation,and command and control, Five human needs inspire and drive us. Kristine S MacKain, Ph.D and myself describe these inspirational forces in our book "What Inspirational Leaders Do" (Kindle 2008)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

