Our Dog. My Teacher

Sir Geiger and co

Sawyer (The Lab) and dog-in-law Geiger

How important are our animals in centering our lives?

I often quip that our dog Sawyer is my teacher. The life lesson’s I learn from her are those where I can potentially be,

  1. Fully present.

Sawyer never frets about the future. She never stays awake at night obsessing about  innumerable “what if’s?”  In fact, controlling future outcomes (other than barking at the door for us to open for her) are not part of her thought life.

The question. How can I be more present in all that I do?

  1. Satisfied by simple things

In a world driven by consumerism we need not allow satisfaction to be measured by the accumulation of things. Rather, sitting between the front seats of the car is her definition of bliss.

The question: How can I simplify my life and fully enjoy the small things

  1. Embracing of diversity

Sawyer does not care that Geiger is different (she is a Lab-mix and black and Geiger is a Schnauzer and grey). In the world of humans, differences often signal feelings of separation, anxiety, fear, and conflict.

 The question: What can I do to accept differences?

  1. Focussed on the importance of love

Those of us who have lost animals know the degree to which the ache of their death goes to the very core of our being. The thought of losing someone we cherish makes us inclined to savor every minute we have with them.

The question: How can I fully appreciate love in my life?

Your Questions

What life questions arise from your relationship with animals?

How do they make you a better person?

How do they keep you spiritually and mentally centered?

 

 

 

About cedricj

I am a licensed psychologist and management consultant and have always been intrigued by how leaders can inspire people in their organizations. The bottom line is that people are not always motivated by material rewards, the use of the carrot or the stick, fear and intimidation,and command and control, Five human needs inspire and drive us. Kristine S MacKain, Ph.D and myself describe these inspirational forces in our book "What Inspirational Leaders Do" (Kindle 2008)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

