Why I Write Blogs

A friend once asked me, “Why do you write blogs?” That made me think long and hard about my six-year writing venture, almost weekly blog postings, and at times an obsessive quest to meet a weekly commitment to my own inner drives.

The topic may seem to be an awfully self-indulgent exercise in navel-gazing. But here goes all the same.

A blog is a medium that allows me to become more vulnerable about burning questions, the personal demons I want to expel, and the topics that intrigue me.

Sometimes the blog originates in a current life experience. Once I was on a plane sitting next to an accomplished physician. I was enjoying our conversation until he made the pompous announcement “I could be a coach. Anyone can coach!” I felt like saying “What’s there to transplanting a heart from one person to another?” That exchange became the subject of a blog.

Another time I was reflecting on how my thirty year-old self would respond to my self later in life. That too became a blog.

The topics of my nearly 300 blogs come from most anywhere. However,  the one self-imposed restriction is not to write anything negative. Believe me, however, I have been tempted to sound off on negative topics, but again and again Kris and others have reminded me that my blog is about inspirational leadership. So I will leave the political musings to the pundits in the NY Times.

In terms of the vulnerability factor, my blogs have ranged from theoretical topics to struggles I have had with issues raised by my clients or friends. At times a person will bring up a topic that will trouble me. Once I was asked “How do I forgive someone who has been so incredibly hurtful?” That led to the blog, written with Kris, on Forgiveness. In another instance the question was “How can one live with a narcissist?” which led to the blog with a similar title.

Of course there are topics that have intrigued me all my life like the nature of creativity, the process that leads to innovation, the landscape of the imagination, or how strategies are formed.

The most satisfying experience in writing is when I get an idea that starts off like a spark in my imagination and then burns hot and consumes me until I’ve finished writing. Those turn out to be my most impactful pieces of writing like when we were going through a major life change and we wrote “Courage. It Makes All the Difference”.

Then there are times I give advice in my blogs. Where does that come from? Probably because in my early life for a few years, I was a minister, then a radio talk show host, and in the middle of that became a psychologist. I was trained to look at the workings of the mind, the motivations of people, and evidence based ways that people change.

What are some other reasons that I write? For the “likes” and the comments? This is partly so but sometimes nobody responds. I am then reminded of the actor who built a theatre just off a main highway in a California desert. He performs each night even if there is nobody in the audience?

I write for the sheer joy of the experience, the satisfaction of expressing an important topic in less than 600 words, as well as the experience of helping another person.

I am curious.

Why do you write?

About cedricj

I am a licensed psychologist and management consultant and have always been intrigued by how leaders can inspire people in their organizations. The bottom line is that people are not always motivated by material rewards, the use of the carrot or the stick, fear and intimidation,and command and control, Five human needs inspire and drive us. Kristine S MacKain, Ph.D and myself describe these inspirational forces in our book "What Inspirational Leaders Do" (Kindle 2008)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Write Blogs

  1. Thank you Cedric. This is a question I ask myself too. I write for many of the same reasons as you. I also find that it helps me to clarify things for myself; it’s like coaching – when you explain something to someone else it helps you to learn about it.

    When I first started the reason was much less worthy. I wanted to raise my visibility in the virtual world, help people to understand how I think and communicate, and plant seeds of desire in the minds of potential clients. Not that this has ever led to anyone approaching me with a view to working together.

    Bloggers are a supportive bunch and i have made some great new friends through it.

    Finally, I feel it is a way of leaving some form of legacy: a minute contribution to human thinking. that may help others a tiny bit and give them some support for nothing. That feels like a magnanimous thing to do, even if it is only helps one person.

    So thank you for helping me to think. and keep up the good work!

    • cedricj says:

      Thanks for your reflections on your blog writing process. I too thought that my blogs would increase my presence in blog world as well as bring in new business. None of which happened. However, the blog was a good place to send some of my clients in order to clarify issues we were looking at in coaching. When I come to the UK again (I know not when right now) you are one of the first people I will contact.

Leave a Reply

